O'odham Himdag (Culture)

Native American Tribes in Arizona

There are 22 Federally recognized American Indian tribal communities in Arizona. Over 30% of Arizona is comprised to Indian reservation land. The state of Arizona has the largest concentration of American Indian reservation tribal lands in the United States. Interestingly enough, the Native American population is 6% of the overall population in Arizona.

Listed below are the 22 Federally Recognized Indian tribes within Arizona:

  • Ak-Chin Indian Community
  • Cocopah Indian Tribe
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes
  • Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation
  • Fort Mohave Indian Tribe
  • Fort Yuma Quechan Tribe
  • Gila River Indian Community
  • Havasupai Tribe
  • Hopi Tribe
  • Hualapai Tribe
  • Kaibab-Paiute Tribe
  • Navajo Nation
  • Pascua Yaqui Tribe
  • San Carlos Apache Tribe
  • San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe
  • Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community
  • Tohono O’odham Indian Nation
  • Tonto Apache Tribe
  • White Mountain Apache Tribe
  • Yavapai-Apache Nation
  • Yavapai Prescott Indian Tribe
  • Pueblo of Zuni