O'odham Himdag (Culture)

Native American Tribes of the United States

First, we would like to define what a federally recognized tribe is and a state recognized tribe; these are the 2 types of Native American recognition in this country.

“A federally recognized tribe is an American Indian or Alaska Native tribal entity that is recognized as having a government-to-government relationship with the United States, with the responsibilities, powers, limitations, and obligations attached to that designation, and are eligible for funding and services from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Furthermore, federally recognized tribes are recognized as possessing certain inherent rights of self-government (i.e., tribal sovereignty) and are entitled to receive certain federal benefits, services, and protections because of their special relationship with the United States. At present, there are 567 federally recognized American Indian and Alaska Native tribes and villages.

Additionally, federally recognized tribes possess both the right and the authority to regulate activities on their lands independently from state government control. They can enact and enforce stricter or more lenient laws and regulations than those of the surrounding …state.” (www.bia.gov)

State recognized tribes “…are recognized by individual states for their various internal state government purposes.” (http://www.acf.hhs.gov) There are 567 federally recognized Indian Nations (variously called tribes, nations, bands, pueblos, communities and native villages) in the United States. Two hundred and twenty-nine (229) of these ethnically, culturally and linguistically diverse nations are located in Alaska. The remaining 338 federally recognized tribes are located in 36 out of the 49 other states.

Click here for a list of the Federally Recognized Tribes in the United States